Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Swimming Saves Lives Foundation (SSLF) Grant

Grants and In-Kind Support to USA Nonprofits, Municipalities,
For-Profits, and Universities to Promote Adult Swimming Lessons

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

U.S. Masters Swimming (USMS) - Swimming Saves Lives Foundation (SSLF)

Deadline Date:

07/31/19 Online Receipt


Request a Grant Writer

Grants of up to $5,000 and in-kind support to USA nonprofits, universities, municipalities, and for-profits for programs that provide adult swimming lessons. The purpose of the program is to serve as an educational and financial resource for adult learn-to-swim programs.

If awarded a grant, USMS will promote the program on its website and provide swim caps, banners, and other support materials. Each grant award includes one fee waiver for the USMS Adult Learn-to-Swim instructor certification class.

The Foundation's hope is that once adults learn to swim or improve their swimming skills, they will have the confidence and desire to continue swimming in a Masters Swimming program and experience the lifelong benefits of swimming.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 172184

Number of Grants:

The amount and number of grant awards for 2020 will be determined in the summer, based on member contributions.

Estimated Size of Grant:

The maximum grant award an applicant may receive is $5,000.

Term of Contract:

If awarded a grant, funds are to be used in 2020.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

USMS accepts applications from all swim instructors, facilities, and programs that want to help make more adults safer around water.

Applicants will be asked to select if they are one of the following:

- Nonprofit with a tax ID from the IRS,
- Municipality,
- University-owned, or
- For-profit.

SSLF will not consider grant requests that are directed at individuals or groups that are not eligible for membership in USMS (for example, all program participants must be 18 years old or older in order for a program to be eligible for a grant).

Please note the following:

- The grant entity will be required to register as a USMS club or workout group. Grant awards may not be used for USMS club registration fees.

See the following link for more information:

- At least one individual associated with the grant entity will be required to register as a member of USMS. Grant awards may not be used for USMS individual membership.

See the following link for more information:

- If the grant entity intends to be covered by USMS liability insurance, participants in the learn-to-swim program must be USMS members or sign the 30-day guest USMS membership. If the adult learner continues lessons after the 30-day guest membership period, he or she must register with USMS in order for the insurance to remain in effect.

- Each instructor may directly supervise no more than three students and, for the insurance to be in effect, the instructor must be a USMS member.

- Grant programs will be required to fulfill reporting requirements, including but not limited to information about participation and use of funds.

Pre-Application Information:

The application window is open from May through July. Completed grant requests must be received by Tuesday, July 31, 2019.

The SSLF board of trustees will announce grant winners at the USMS annual meeting in St. Louis, Mo. in September. Grant applicants may attend the meeting, but their presence is not required. In October and November, USMS will reach out to those selected to receive a grant.

Tips for applying:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Apply online:

Holly Neumann, Manager, Adult Learn-to-Swim and Foundation Programs

U.S. Masters Swimming
1751 Mound St., Ste. 201
Sarasota, FL 34236

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming